

Salisbury Conservation Commission Meeting Summary June 22, 2022

Dave Kelly, Chairman	Present	Bill MacDuffie, Member	Present
Laura Deming, Vice Chairman	Absent	Kathleen Doyle, Member	Absent
Cheryl Bentley, Secretary	Present	Sarah John, Member	Present

Visitors: Douglas Darling, Leonida Rasenas, Michael Rossetti, Eve Hiatt, Jeffery Foote, Don Cretchmer - Consultant.

Chairman Dave Kelly called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

Previous Meeting Minutes - No minutes to review at this time.

New Business - Five town residents who all have property on Tucker Pond in Salisbury came to the Conservation Commission meeting to let us know about an ongoing problem on Tucker Pond. The Cyanobacteria levels on Tucker Pond have been increasing over the last few years making the water unsafe for humans and pets. They informed the Commission that 44 families use the pond and there are 47 properties located around the pond. High levels of phosphorus cause these bacteria to flourish, and they are currently trying to figure out where the higher levels of phosphorus are coming from. They have hired Forest Bell Environmental Association to assist them with this problem. They are currently working on a Watershed Management Plan for the 56-acre pond with 200 to 300 acres of watershed. All pond residents were asked to fill out a survey regarding conservation concerns and they had a 91% response rate. They are also applying for a grant to help them with the future expenses of research and removal. Forest Bell Environmental Association is giving a presentation at the Town Hall on Saturday, August 6, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. regarding the Cyanobacteria bloom. The Conservation Commission agreed that we would like to be kept informed on this project and updated occasionally.

Mail - No mail.

Next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, July 27, 2022.

<u>Adjournment</u> - Chairman Dave Kelly motioned to adjourn, Secretary Cheryl Bentley seconded that motion, all voted in favor. Meeting adjourned at 8:02 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted by: Cheryl Bentley

Dave Kelly, Chairman